Welcome to the Waverly Community House Archive Blog, a site dedicated to sharing the historic Special Collections held at the Waverly Community House. Our goal here is to share bits and pieces of our history by providing access to many of the documents, photographs, and other hidden gems stored in the South Wing’s Archive Space. Please feel free to make comments, ask questions, and make suggestions for materials that you would like to see featured on this blog.
In our first post, we thought it fitting to focus on the Belin family & their generous gift to the community of Waverly in 1919.
In 1917, after Henry Belin Jr.’s death, his wife & children wished to commemorate and memorialize his everlasting spirit and dedication to the community of Waverly. Through careful consideration, the remaining family members thought it fitting to establish a place designated for community recreation, education, and civic engagement. Thus, in 1919, the cornerstone to the Waverly Community House was laid; the building officially opened its doors to the public in 1920. It soon became affectionately known as “the Comm,” and residents from the region became fond of the space which provided refuge from the stress of daily life. Early events & programs held at the Comm included: the Annual Fair & Farming Exhibition, Kindergarten classes, Boy & Girl Scout meetings, moving picture shows, and many more.
In 1927, after Henry’s widow Margaretta passed, the remaining children added two additional wings onto the building’s structure in memory of their mother. Various other elements & structures have been added to the Comm throughout the years in memory of other family members & loved ones.
Through its tremendous spirit of dedication, the Waverly Community House has served the region for decades, and will continue to do so due to the loyal board members, donors, staff, and volunteers who preserve & maintain the building & its everlasting significance in the community.
For more on the Comm’s history, check out our website: http://waverlycomm.org/history-2/